General Emergency Services Qualification

The General Emergency Services (GES) Qualification is required to participate in any emergency services training or operations and prior to training in any other specialty.


. Paragraph
specifies the requirements for GES


  1. Must be a current member. Individuals in temporary membership are eligible to train but are not eligible attend mission or flight training or operations and are not eligible for liability coverage under the FECA.
  2. Must have completed Level I Training
  3. Complete the CAPT116, The General Emergency Services Questionnaire. Test is to be corrected to 100%.
  4. Complete the introductory Incident Command System (ICS) portion of the exam if they have not done so previously or completed ICS 100 level training (or higher) with CAP or another credible organization.

You are now eligible to participate in an actual or training mission. The GES authorizes you to attend missions, observe activities and perform administrative and general operations support tasks under the direction of qualified staff personnel, essentially as a license to learn.

To remain current in the GES specialty all current holders will complete new examinations within 180 days of issuance of a new examination. Personnel can complete the latest exam (in two parts or as one combined exam) on-line at:

You may now print out your CAP101 card, which shows all your Emergency Services Ratings, via OPS QUAL in eServices. This should be carried with you to each mission; however, in NCWG, your Emergency Services qualifications are verified electronically when you sign in to a mission.


All future ES Qualifications will be completed using an SQTR, which is a “Specialty Qualification Training Record”. These SQTR’s are now maintained online in OPS QUAL”. Each SQTR contains these sections:

  1. Prerequisites. Once complete, your unit commander or operations officer must sign or approve your SQTR before you proceed to do actual training.
  2. Familiarization and Prepetory Training (F&P’s
  3. Advanced Training.
  4. Participate in 2 training or actual missions

Future Training

Once you get your GES, all future ES qualifications require the following training which you should continue with as soon as possible.

  1. OPSEC or Operational Security Training and
  2. IS-100, which is an intrucution to the National Incident Command System NIMS). Training is available online at:

Comments are closed.